Helping You Seek Justice
Personal, Purposeful Advocacy For Over 20 Years
DUI Attorneys in Lafayette, Louisiana
Driving under the influence (DUI) is a serious charge that carries legal consequences, particularly in Louisiana. If you have been charged with DUI, it is important to understand your rights and the laws surrounding these charges to ensure you are taking the right steps to protect yourself.
If you are facing DUI charges in Louisiana, our DUI attorneys at J. Clay LeJeune, Attorney at Law, LLC, can help you navigate the complex legal proceedings. We have the expertise and resources to fight for the best possible resolution of your DUI case. With an office in Lafayette, Louisiana, we serve people accused of crimes throughout the state, including St. Landry, St. Martin, Iberia, Jefferson Davis, and Acadia.
Don’t Face This Challenge AloneContact Our Team
DUI Charges in Louisiana
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a serious offense in Louisiana. But did you know that you don’t have to actually be driving for you to be charged with a DUI? There are several situations in which a person can be charged with a DUI even if they are not behind the wheel.
In Louisiana, it is illegal to operate any motor vehicle while intoxicated or – in other words – while having a specific blood alcohol concentration (BAC). According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of above .08%. Louisiana is also a zero-tolerance state that prohibits drivers under the age of 21 from driving with any amount of alcohol in the system.
However, you could face charges even if you aren’t operating the vehicle but are simply inside it. According to Louisiana law, if an officer finds someone sleeping inside a vehicle—with the engine running and keys still on their person—they can assume that the person was driving while impaired and charge them accordingly. In addition, an individual can be charged with a DUI if they are found inside the driver’s seat of an inactive vehicle (with keys nearby) while impaired by drugs or alcohol or with an open container of alcohol within the passenger compartment of their vehicle.
Possible Penalties for DUI in Louisiana
The penalties for a DUI charge can vary depending on factors such as whether or not this is the first time you have been charged, how much alcohol was in your system at the time of the offense, and whether or not there were any injuries or fatalities involved. Generally speaking, you can expect to face some combination of jail time, fines, probation and/or community service if convicted of DUI in Louisiana.
The jail term for a first-time offender could range from 10 days up to six months, with fines ranging from $300 to $1,000. You may also be required to take part in an alcohol treatment program as well as have your driver’s license suspended.
In Louisiana, drivers convicted of DUI may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. The requirement applies to those who:
have previous DUIs on their record;
had a child aged 12 or younger in the vehicle during the DUI arrest; or
caused injury or death to another person when driving under the influence.
If any of the above-mentioned applies, the driver will be required to install an ignition interlock device upon reinstatement of their driving privileges.
How Can a DUI Attorney Help?
If you have been charged with a DUI in Louisiana, it is crucial that you seek experienced legal representation as soon as possible in order to protect your rights and interests throughout your case proceedings.
DUI attorneys will help ensure that all evidence is presented correctly and will work hard on your behalf for the best possible outcome for your case. They will also review all aspects of your case carefully and provide advice regarding potential defense strategies based on the circumstances surrounding your charges so that you can make informed decisions about how best to proceed with your case.
If you find yourself facing a DUI charge in Louisiana, there may be several defenses available to help reduce or dismiss charges against you, such as challenging an illegal search or seizure or arguing that police did not possess probable cause before pulling you over initially.
Additionally, if it can be proven that any breathalyzer test conducted at the scene was done incorrectly, then this could also provide grounds for dismissal of charges against you due to a lack of evidence proving impairment beyond a reasonable doubt. Calling skilled criminal defense attorneys immediately after being charged with DUI can give you your best chance at reducing or even dismissing charges against you altogether.
DUI Attorneys Serving Lafayette, Louisiana
If you are facing DUI charges in Lafayette or other parts of Louisiana, contact our results-driven and dedicated attorneys at J. Clay LeJeune, Attorney at Law, LLC, right away. Our DUI attorneys in Lafayette, Louisiana, provide advice regarding potential defense strategies based on the circumstances surrounding your charge so that you can make informed decisions about how best to move forward with your case. Reach out to our office to set up a consultation.